Fluffy as Hell Blueberry Pancakes

I haven’t been able to blog a lot since summer started.  Kids are out of school, swimming almost everyday, and I got myself a part-time job.  But with summer there is local produce and lots of it.  We headed out to Soergel Orchards yesterday, so I could get some since I am still waiting for my garden to start producing.  I have lots of tomatoes, but they are all still green.  I am waiting patiently.  My winter squash is starting to bloom and I have cucumbers almost ready to pick.  I would just like them a bit bigger before I do so.

Anyway back to Soergel.  I got myself some zucchinis, tomatoes, kale, green beans, peaches, and blueberries.  We missed the pick your own blueberries, but they had plenty inside their market.

After shopping the kids wanted to play a little bit and the orchard has a little play area and petting zoo.

The height isn’t accurate I noticed how there are a few inches between the sign and the ground. ha!

Then we met this lovely guy.  Dudley, which I had to chuckle since I am pretty sure he was named after the Dudley in Harry Potter.  I mean this pig was huge.  You could literally ride on him.

So with all this fresh produce I was most excited about the blueberries.  So I made blueberry pancakes.  These aren’t just any ordinary blueberry pancakes.  These pancakes are fluffy, I mean fluffy as hell.

 

 

 

 

 

Fluffy as Hell Blueberry Pancakes
makes 10 medium/large pancakes

 

 

 

 

 

3 cups of unbleached all-purpose flour (sifted, it needs to be done.  You can’t skip it or you will not get fluffy pancakes.  Don’t have sifter, no worries, use a pasta strainer.  Put flour in pasta strainer and shake it or tap the sides into a bowl.)
1 tbsp of baking powder
1 tsp of salt
2 tbsp of sugar
6 tbsp unsalted butter – melted
2 large eggs
2 1/2 cups of milk
1 1/2 cups of blueberries (or more if you like)

Heat a lightly oiled skillet or griddle over medium heat

Sift the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar together into a large bowl.

Add melted butter, eggs and milk to the dry ingredients.  Stir until just smooth. Gently fold in the blueberries.  Do not over mix or you will not get fluffy pancakes.

I use a ladle to spoon the batter on to the skillet.  Watch the top of the pancake until it starts to bubble, flip and wait a minute or two and take off skillet.
And there you have fluffy pancakes.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment